The American Nuclear Society’s Nuclear Engineering Education for the Disadvantaged (NEED) Committee provides educational and professional assistance to the culturally and economically disadvantaged in order to encourage their educational pursuits in nuclear science and technology.

The ANS NEED Committee has oversight for the NEED program.  This program approves funds for ANS scholarships that directly support students with economic and cultural disadvantages.  It also provides financial support to the NEED Grants for Academic Programs (NGAP) as well as the George A. Ferguson Motivational Grants (GAFMG) for K-12 school programs.

About the ANS NEED Committee

The ANS NEED Committee is responsible for recommending to the Executive Committee and implementing approved programs in which the Society may provide direct educational and professional assistance to the culturally and economically disadvantaged.  The intent of this support is to encourage the award recipient’s educational endeavors in nuclear science and technology.

This committee shall be composed of not fewer than six (6) nor more than twelve (12) Fellows, Members, Student, Emeritus, or Honorary Life Members, each appointed to a three (3) year term, with the terms of approximately one-third (1/3) of the members expiring at the close of each annual meeting.  It is recommended that at least one (1) of the appointed members shall be a student member.  In addition, the chair of the Education, Training and Workforce Development Division and the chair of the Scholarship Policy and Coordinating Committee, or their designated representatives, shall be ex officio members.

ANS members interested in volunteering for the NEED Committee should complete a volunteer form.

Who funds NEED?

The NEED fund was established by John and  Muriel Landis and is supported by ANS member contributions.  This support has completely turned around the educational development for many students over the years.

Our 2019 Donors

To make a contribution to the NEED fund, please visit

Contributions can also be mailed with the contribution form (PDF) to:

Lockbox # 97781
American Nuclear Society
c/o Accounting Department
97781 Eagle Way
Chicago, IL 60678-9770

Please make your check payable to the American Nuclear Society (ANS), and list NEED in the memo.

Get Involved

Join ANS