555 North Kensington Avenue La Grange Park, Illinois 60526-5592 USA Tel: 708/352-6611 E-Mail: NUCLEUS@ans.org http://www.ans.org Fax: 708/352-0499

July 27, 2011

Dr. John E. Gunning Oak Ridge National Laboratory ORNL, GNSTD PO Box 2008 MS-6166 Oak Ridge, TN 37831-6166

Dear John:

It is my pleasure to inform you that the American Nuclear Society (ANS) Board of Directors has approved the formation of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Technical Group. The efforts of the Special Committee on Nuclear Non-Proliferation over the years have come to fruition. The Technical Group charter is now the same as the original Special Committee. However, as you interact with other ANS TGs and Divisions, changes can be made.

Please begin the process of formalizing your Technical Group in order to hold your first executive committee election in the spring of 2012. Mikey Brady Raap Chair of the Professional Divisions Committee (PDC), and Sharon Kerrick the staff liaison to PDC will assist you with your work. Also, please write a brief article (200 words) regarding the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Technical Group for inclusion in the next edition of ANS News. This article will help familiarize the ANS members with the Society's newest Technical Group.

The transition from a special committee to a technical group is a significant move. It is the dedication and commitment of its members that makes the Society strong. We thank you for all the hard work you have put into this endeavor. I look forward to the work of the Nuclear Non-Proliferation Technical Group.

Sincerely,

Eric P. Loewen, Ph.D.

President