

MINUTES

DIVERSITY AND INCLUSION IN ANS COMMITTEE

Meeting at ANS Winter Meeting 2018 Orlando, Florida Monday, November 12, 2018 | 1:30-3:00 pm Hilton Orlando Bonnet Creek | Room: Palm Beach

Present:

Kalin Kiesling-Chair, Lane Carasik-Vice Chair, Lisa Marshall-Vice Chair, Dan Goldberg-ANS Director of Membership and Marketing, Mary Vitas-ANS Marketing Manager & Liaison, Daryl Rizzo-ANS Director of Development. Members: Shirly Spath, Leigh Winfrey, Raul Rebak, Katie Mumah. Other attendees: Nicholas Thomson, Lauren Garrison, Lauren Crabtree, Jamie Coble, Chelsea d'Angelo, Kendall Barrett, Matthew Jasica, Leah Parks, Paul Wilson, Luca Capriotti, Kimberly Sleezer, Lenka Kollar, Fan Zhang, Brett Rampal, Kelley Verner, Patrick Shriwise, Baptiste Mouginot, Charles Goodman

- 1. Attendance: Chair Kalin Kiesling took attendance
- 2. **Introduction:** Kalin welcomed all and asked the attendees to introduce themselves.
- 3. **Prior Meeting Minutes:** Meeting minutes from the 8-10-18 conference call were distributed and it was determined a quorum was established. No edits were required and the minutes were approved.

4. Travel Grants:

- a. Kalin reported that 19 female students had applied for the rants. For the next Winter Meeting, the NEED Committee will not restrict the grants to only women.
- b. Discussion and evaluation of process and rules. Kalin led a discussion as to whether there should be limits on how many grants are awarded per meeting to students from the same school, and should prior recipients be excluded from receiving future grants. A Travel Grant Application/Judging Criteria Subcommittee to address these types of issues was formed, with the following attendees volunteering for the subcommittee: Lane Carasik, Shirly Spath, Lisa Marshall, Jamie Coble
- c. Nicholas Thomson suggested that the committee seek endowments from outside companies for the travel grants program. The Travel Grant Endowment Subcommittee was formed to address the idea. Volunteers for the subcommittee: Leigh Winfrey, Nick Thompson, Lisa Marshall, Matt Jasica.



- 5. **Purpose of the DIA Committee:** Kalin informed those present that the DIA was formed when the Professional Women in ANS Committee included Nuclear Pride and changed the committee name to the Diversity and Inclusion in ANS Committee. The committee's focus is now on issues within the society and as liaison between ANS and outside parties.
- 6. **Diversity Social Update:** All present were invited to the Diversity Social, Tuesday from 8 to 10 pm in the Myth Bar in the hotel. Kalin informed that the minimum \$3,900 requirement to hold the meeting was met by contributors.
- 7. **2019-2020 Committee Goals:** Kalin will be meeting with Marilyn Kray to discuss DIA's goals and how to increase membership. Marilyn wants to know how the board can help. An open discussion followed including the following topics: activities inside the society to support diversity; gender balances at plenaries, etc.; ANS joining as a member of Gender Champions in Nuclear and to commit to a variety of goals; bias training for those who select speakers; DIA Committee representation on other committees; a WIN/DIA social to replace the DIA social; a non-drinking activity at every Winter Meeting; representation at Society of Women Engineers; balancing goal of diversity with reality of talent pool.
- 8. **Social Media:** It was decided not to have separate social media for the DIA Committee, but to include in ANS overall social media. Kalin will contact Linda Zec, ANS Online Communications Specialist. Expressing interest in participating in social media on behalf of the committee: Lane, Kalin, Shirly, Lisa, Lenka. It was decided to retire the PWANS website and create a DIA website and a subcommittee was formed with Lane and Matt as volunteers.
- 9. **Succession Plan:** Kalin will need to step down as Chair on May 1 as she starts maternity leave. Lane volunteered to be Chair for one year, creating a need for a second Co-chair. Shirly Spath offered to take the position and serve alongside Lisa. It was noted that committee members all have 3 year terms and that the terms need to be staggered so that not all members vacate at the same time.
- 10. **Additional Business:** Daryl Rizzo asked for input in reviewing the Center for Nuclear Science and Technology website from a DIA perspective. Leah Parks, Leigh Winfrey, and Lauren Crabtree volunteered for a "People Know Stuff" list.
- 11. Future Conference Calls: Kalin will work out and communicate dates/times.
- 12. **Adjourn:** With no additional items to discuss, the meeting was adjourned.